Builth 5 - Pencoed 16

Bulls refused win at home

Builth were denied a home win when they played host to Pencoed on Saturday. Ill-discipline, with Ashley Mills and Dan Oakley yellow carded allowed Pencoed the luxury of playing against 14 men for 20 minutes if the game.

Members were treated to a pre-match lunch at the Club House where retiring Secretary, Annie Abraham was thanked for 15 years loyal service.

Builth were under pressure from the kick off with the opposition camped in their 22 and only resolute defending from the Bulls and poor handling from Pencoed keeping the score line blank.

The Bulls first real venture in the visitors half came when strong running from centre Stephen Bore powered through the defence. Hands in the ruck gave Builth a penalty but a misjudged kick for touch from Rob Lloyd allowed Pencoed a 22 drop out.

A better period of play followed from the home team but Builth had infringed once too often for the referees liking and Ashley Mill was shown yellow.  It was Pencoed who scored first with a penalty just before half time (0-3). The first try of the game coming straight from the kick off, Pencoed scoring under the posts. An easy conversion followed. (0-10) The impetus was now with the visitors and two further penalties followed. Builth were temporarily back to fifteen men, only for Dan Oakley to be shown yellow 10 minutes later for a late tackle. (0-16) Injuries disrupted the Builth front row in the second half, resulting in uncontested scrums with 15 minutes to go. It was a better second half performance by the home team, enjoying much morepossession and culminating with unconverted try for the captain Ben Pugh minutes before full time.

Coach Nick Howells will be looking for the Bulls first win when the Bulls travel to Bonymaen next Saturday.

Full Time score 5-16


Team :

1 Aiden Luxton

2 Phil Morgan

3 Neil Jarman

4 Nathan Jones

5 Dan Oakley

6 Ashley Mills

7 Ben Pugh (c)

8 Tom Samuel

9 Rhys Davies

10 Rob Lloyd

11 Kyle Baggett

12 Steven Bore

13 Tom Davies

14 Dale Jones

15 Gethin Lewis

Subs :

16 Max Hilliard

17 Alex Brown

18 Ben Duggan

20 Gethin Davies

Coaches : Nick Howells, Chris Hayes