Builth Wells 20-10 Kenfig Hill

In the last home game before Christmas, Builth underlined their improved form with a win against Kenfig Hill on Saturday. It was their second successive league win after a disappointing start to the season.

Despite early pressure from the visitors, it was Builth who took an early lead courtesy of a penalty from full back Dale Jones. Windy conditions making kicking duties a tough task.

A tip tackle on Builths fly half Gavin Jones was deemed serious enough for the referee to show the Kenfig Hill number 5 the red card on the hour and the Mules were on the back foot from then on. Builth failed to capitalize on the resulting penalty when Jones kick clipped the upright and bounced wide.

Ten minutes later, Builth crossed for their first try of the game.  A driving maul, starting from the Kenfig Hill 22 meter line was perfectly executed, tight head prop Phil Morgan touching down for the unconverted try. Half time score 8-0.

Builth made changed for the second half. Tom Samuel coming off the bench for the injured Dan Oakley, Ashley Mills on for Ben Pugh at 7, who switched to scrum half, replacing Joe Godley who’d impressed in his more familiar position. Another driving maul from a line out resulted in Builth’s second try this time for the utterly versatile Pugh.

Kenfig Hill had struggled to contain man of the match Stephen ‘Spike’ Boore all afternoon and his break lead to Builths third. Tom Davies picking up the ball after a spill backwards and a smart off load to Lucas Evans saw the big second row cross for his first try of the season. Gavin Jones adding the extras. The Mules hit back almost immediately. From the kick off, an uncharacteristic mistake from Ben Duggan resulted in a knock on and quick ball from the preceding scrum and a napping defense saw Kenfig Hill score their first and only try, ably converted.

It was a blip in an otherwise dominant performance by Builth who travel to Pencoed on the 19th December.

Team Sheet                 

1 Neil Jerman

2 Phil Morgan

3 David Bayliss

4 Lucas Evans

5 Dan Oakley

6 Wayne Morris

7 Ben Pugh (Capt)

8 Ben Duggan

9 Joe Godley

10 Gavin Jones

11 Gethin Davies

12 Steven Boore

13 Gethin Lewis

14 Tom Davies


Ashley Mills

Tom Samuel

Kyle Baggot

Rhys Field

Nathan Jones